A Word from the Videographer

Yesterday, the large caravan of Calvin students hopped in the vans and made the trek to the NIBC Rainbow School. Here, seven students were privileged enough to teach 3-5 year olds for the day. My job was to film this interaction.

I have a rare privilege as a videographer. I get to observe everything happening around me. I also get to show others raw emotion. Yesterday, I was lucky to see Erin’s face light up as children ran into her arms. She was beaming. I also had the chance to observe Alison as she taught her students their colors. She was so engaging and enthusiastic. I even got the chance to observe the kindergarten students and the Calvin students dancing the hokey pokey.

When I heard that we were going to a kindergarten, I decided to film the children from their level. As adults, we literally look down upon children. We are detached from their world. By filming from their level, the viewer will feel as if they are a child too, watching the interaction around them.

I have to wonder if technology is present in the schools here. when I pulled out my large video camera, several children looked frightened. Others were fascinated and spent the morning stealthily sneaking around behind me trying to watch my screen to see what I was filming. Others placed themselves in front of the lens repeatedly and stared blankly at me. I think they expected it to be a photograph. Other children grabbed my lens and hammed it up, making ridiculous faces and noises. Little girls jumped on me to hug me. By filming at that level, I made myself approachable. I let the children observe me. Some even pointed to different parts of the camera, trying to understand what each part did.

I can only hope that my footage can transform the image of these children. They find us fascinating, but I think that oftentimes, we forget that they have a lot to offer us.

Bethany Woelk

1 comment so far

  1. Ann DeRooy on

    Looking forward to seeing it!


Leave a Reply

